The Calling to Teach

12645024_10206000303869921_4245822672236445584_n

(Note: I wrote this article and posted it on my blog before my book, Immanuel Labor – God’s Presence in our Profession was published by WestBow Press in February 2018.  This critical topic was later included in the book.  I invite you to check it out. This article was also published on the Christian Grandfather Magazine.)

I was struck several weeks ago while reading the book of Ezra how important teaching was to this man of God.  It says in Ezra 7:10 that he “had devoted himself to the study and observance of the Law of the LORD, and to teaching its decrees and laws in Israel.”  The very next day, as I was reading the Sermon on the Mount in Matt. 5, teaching was mentioned by Jesus in v. 19: “Anyone who breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever practices and teaches these commands will be called great in the kingdom of heaven.”

Note that in both of these passages, there is a connection between knowing and doing.  Jesus points out that whether we are good or evil, we teach others with our actions and words, setting an example of right and wrong behavior.  Although in Matthew’s Gospel we all teach informally, one way or another, Scripture most often paints a picture of those who are specifically called or equipped to teach as a ministry or profession.  More on that later.

This article is an attempt to follow through on something the Lord laid on my heart at the 2016 Faith@Work Summit last October.  Throughout this year, I intend to write a series of articles that puts the spotlight on one profession.  This one I know something about.  I will share a bit of my own experiences as a teacher in various capacities and settings over the past 36 years, and then provide a brief overview of what God’s Word has to say about the value of teaching.  I will show how it is a high calling because teaching is a job that God wants done for the common good.  My purpose is to encourage teachers to continue to do what God has called, equipped, and enabled them to do, knowing full well that their job matters.

Teacher, Coach, Mentor

Here is a snapshot of my teaching experiences from 1980 – present:  After graduating from college, I taught math for two years at a public junior/senior high school in Colorado.  At the same time, I was a part-time junior high youth ministry intern at a local church.  Shortly after I moved to Portland, Oregon to attend seminary, I worked half-time in a local church as a youth minister for over two years.  During my last year, I also taught math and science at a Christian junior/senior high school for one year.

While on active duty in the Army from 1986-2006, I had numerous opportunities as a non-commissioned officer to teach, train, coach, and mentor.  Although I was never an instructor by position, I taught dozens of classes on such topics as basic individual nuclear, biological, and chemical (NBC) survival skills, maintaining NBC equipment, developing lane training exercises, and consideration of others.  One highlight took place in the summer of 1991, when I personally trained 32 instructors and assistant instructors who then trained over 3,000 ROTC cadets.  In my off-duty time, I also taught and facilitated dozens of Bible studies in Sunday School classes, men’s groups, and small groups in local churches and chapels.

So, how do I feel when I function in the role of teacher?  I think exhilarating is the best word to describe it.  I truly enjoy mastering a subject, whether it be algebra, putting on a protective mask, how to find a college scholarship, or tracing Paul’s arguments in the book of Romans.  I enjoy presenting what I have learned to others so that they can know what I know, feel what I feel, and be able to do what I can do.  I know that the ability to teach is a gift, so I’ve developed it over time and use it as often as I can, in whatever setting I find myself.

On a humorous note, this is what I may have been like if I had continued my math teaching career.

math-teacher

Incidentally, most of my immediate family members (my wife, all but one of our children, plus our daughter-in-law and son-in-law) either have recently been or are now involved in the field of education at every level: preschool, elementary, middle school, high school, and college.  I also have quite a few friends who teach; two of them are school administrators.  (I call them biblical principals!)  I say this in part to honor them, and others like them.

Scripture Overview

In addition to the passages mentioned above, there are many Scriptures that specifically refer to teaching, instruction, learning, etc.  If you think about it, the entire Bible is a book given to us to teach us about God and how to relate to Him.  The Christian faith would not exist now without the generations of teachers that have passed it along.

The first time I find the word teach used is in Exodus 4, where Yahweh is promising Moses that He would teach him what to say to Pharaoh.  So, we see that God is a teacher.  (See also Ps. 32:8.)  Later, in Ex. 18, Moses’ father-in-law counsels Moses to teach the Israelites God’s decrees and laws (before the laws were given in chapter 19).  We also see that spiritual leadership involves teaching.  In Ex. 35, God sets apart two men to be in charge of the tabernacle construction workers.  They not only had the skills, ability, and knowledge in all kinds of craftsmanship, but they had the ability to teach others in this important work.

In Deuteronomy 4:1, as they are about to enter the Promised Land, Moses exhorts the Israelites to follow the laws that He was about to teach them.  They in turn were to teach their children and their children’s children (v. 9) so they would always fear the Lord and live long in the land.  In Deut. 6:6, we see that this teaching was to be done deliberately and often.  In Proverbs, we find an entire book of wisdom, passed on from father to son.  Solomon emphasizes the importance of what he is telling him: “Listen, my son, accept what I say, and the years of your life will be many.  I guide you in the way of wisdom and lead you along straight paths. . . Hold on to instruction, do not let it go; guard it well, for it is our life.” (Prov. 4:10-13).

In the New Testament, we see the Son of God doing what His Father did – teaching.  The crowds were amazed at His teaching (Matt. 7:28).  Mark adds that “He taught them as one who had authority, not as the teachers of the law” (Mark 1:22).  Jesus confronted the false teachers, the Pharisees and Sadducees.  His teaching was true because He was the truth (John 14:6), and His truth would set people free (John 8:31).  We see in Rom. 12:2 that transformation starts with the renewing of the mind as the Holy Spirit teaches us all things and reminds us of everything Jesus said to us (John 14:26).  Paul instructs his church that God provides the spiritual gift of teaching, equipping certain individuals to build up the Body of Christ (1 Cor. 12:28; Eph. 4:11).

14695380_1234862426584967_7436252951277633200_n

Eternal Implications

Let me some personal insights about teaching.  It is one of many professions I can think of that truly has eternal value.  Your students have eternal value, even if some subjects that are taught may not.  However, there are quite a few “secular” subjects that are taught now that will indeed follow us into eternity, i.e., music, culinary skills, government, art, etc.

Christians who are professional educators at all levels, parents, and those who supervise or train others can be encouraged to know that God’s presence is with you as you work (Immanuel labor).  You are a co-teacher with the God of the Universe.  You know Jesus, the consummate Teacher.  As you abide in Him you can be filled with His Spirit, enabling you to supernaturally display the skills, patience, and love needed to mold minds.  You know the true worth of your students.  You also know that education of the mind alone does not change a heart, but your unconditional love will reach them.

Let me draw to a close by sharing a prayer from Paul’s epistle to the Philippians.  It seems particularly appropriate for teachers as they pray over their students, just like Paul did over his learners, the church.  “And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless until the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ – to the glory and praise of God” (Phil. 1:9-11).

Paul knew how important it was to impart theological and practical knowledge, insights, and wisdom to his students, how it leads to discernment and a renewed mind and heart, and results in a righteous life.  He not only taught with words, but by example: “Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me or seen in me – put it into practice.” (Phil. 4:9).

Teachers, keep on teaching whomever you teach, for the glory of God!

Russ Gehrlein

Master Sergeant Russell E. Gehrlein (U.S. Army, Retired) is a Christian, husband of 38 years, father of three, grandfather of four, blogger, and author of “Immanuel Labor – God’s Presence in our Profession: A Biblical, Theological, and Practical Approach to the Doctrine of Work”, published by WestBow Press in February 2018. He received a B.S. in Mathematics from Colorado State University in 1980 and an M.A. in Biblical Studies from Grand Rapids Theological Seminary in 2015.  He is also a former junior/senior high school math and science teacher and youth pastor.  Russ currently works as a Department of the Army civilian at Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri.

2 thoughts on “The Calling to Teach

Leave a comment